Friday, January 20, 2017

Lucy and Linh by Alice Pung





by Mrs. Hanson

I am partial to a well-written mean girl story, and when set in a top shelf private girls school--bonus points! Plus this is set in Australia and I love the Chris Lilley TV series "Jamee, Private School Girl." More bonus points! It also reminds me of The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie because it features a deliciously evil clique (of course they are the prefects) who rule by sneaky long term terror operations against students and faculty. How many bonus points can one book get?

Lucy wins the first scholarship for Laurinda school, and commutes every day from her working class suburb of Melbourne (Australia). The daughter of a seamstress and a supermarket clerk whose childhoods were transformed by the Vietnam War, she is fascinated by and attracted to the wealth, self-confidence and polish of her new peers. She is also repelled by the violence, anger, and bullying underneath this beautiful veneer. Her politics teacher explains that politics is the study of people and power, and that is what Lucy does.

Bravo Alice Pung. Now I have to read all your other books!

Thursday, March 3, 2016

A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith



by Kelsey McGeough

A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith is realistic fiction following a young girl named Francie Nolan and her brother, mother and father and their daily struggle in the slums of Brooklyn, NY. Her grandparents were first hand immigrants from Austria, and we see as the Nolans and their extended family struggle to find their feet in America. The story is told through a child's perspective, and we get to watch her grow and mature as the plot develops. Betty Smith uses makes statements about themes such as love, family, education, poverty, and women. The story is easily relatable because of the child's perspective and the book definitely presents controversial topics as well. For example, we can see Francie and her mother and the complications they have as Francie matures, as well as the role of women in an industrializing society.

Although the book is almost 500 pages long, the language is relatively easy and Smith is able to keep you interested. However, if you are someone who needs a lot of fighting and action to keep you interested, I would not recommend this book to you. This book is more of a story about every day conflicts. In addition, this book does present controversial topics and often requires thinking, so if you are someone who likes an easy read this book may not be for you. I gave the book 4 stars because at times I thought some of the narration was unnecessary, but it is easy to move through and Smith picks the plot back up again. Overall, I loved this book and would recommend it highly to anyone that is looking for a new read.

Enjoy!!

Wednesday, March 2, 2016

A Streetcar Named Desire by Tennessee Williams



by Cassie Shao

Tennessee Williams is a accomplished playwright who wrote many well-known plays, one of which is this play--A Streetcar Named Desire. As I was reading the play, Williams's vivid stage directions allowed me to fully picture the setting. While the lines are well-written, I personally think that the true beauty lies within the stage directions. Throughout the play, Williams creatively uses the jazz and blues tunes played by the band on the street to enhance the mood of each scene, which I think is rather unique.

What makes this play a 5 star rating overall, are its precise language and its meaningful plot. It's a play that's unlike anything you've ever read. Once you pick it up, you will yearn to find out more and thus will never be able to put it down. Even when you finish it, its not-so-straightforward ending will make your brain lingering around. A Streetcar Named Desire is truly one of a kind.

Tuesday, March 1, 2016

Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee


by Andrew Haimovici


When purchasing this book, I was expecting to read a sequel to the famous To Kill a Mockingbird. This, however is not what the book is, so if you are looking for a continuation of To Kill a Mockingbird, I do not recommend this book because Go Set a Watchman will not fill such a desire.

This book is quite different than To Kill a Mockingbird because Atticus Finch, the lawyer who defends a Tom Robinson, a black man accused of raping a white girl, is a white supremacist. In To Kill a Mockingbird he is the book’s moral conscience and is one of Maycomb’s only non-racist people, but in Go Set a Watchman, he is on the board of the Citizen’s council, an organization that defends segregation and sinks to the level of the KKK. Ironically, in Go Set a Watchman, Jean Louise, Atticus’ daughter is the one fighting for equality, the very principles with which her father raised her.

Overall this book seems a bit like an unfinished draft, which is what it really is. There are details left relatively unexplained, and subtle, underdeveloped symbolism that could have added a lot to the work if it was brought out more. The plot of this book also seems a little underdeveloped, which makes the book less entrenching. Not all is negative though, there are some really cool moments when Harper Lee describes different scenarios in the perfect way. It is also interesting to see what To Kill a Mockingbird was originally supposed to be like because after all, this is an earlier draft of it. I would recommend the book to someone looking to learn more about what makes fiction good versus bad because there are moments of both in Go Set a Watchman and they are easy to discern.

Monday, February 29, 2016

It's What I do by Lynsey Addario

by Kiana Summers

It was an okay book. I am very interested in photography and after Lynsey Addario visited our school and gave a presentation about her line of work I was intrigued. 

I thought it was boring for too long before anything interesting happened (which was only for a few pages) but then again, it was a memoir. There were some parts that were very captivating and really insightful and I just wanted to keep reading and sometimes even be in the moment with her. For instance, when she was interviewing rape victims in Darfur, Sudan, the stories were really moving because of the way they were written. Also, one of her near-death stories paired with the collateral damage made me realize life was really short and every action you take has consequences.

Sunday, February 28, 2016

American Sniper by Chris Kyle



by Cam Peddie

American Sniper is about American hero Chris Kyle, who served on multiple deployments in Iraq and tallied up the most confirmed kills in American history. The book is narrated in the first person and shares the story of Chris Kyle starting before he was recruited into the military. This is not your average war autobiography, as it is told by a man whose fellow servicemen called “The Legend.” Kyle’s youth seems to be just out of American folklore. He is from rural Texas and grows being a rancher and riding horses. The book immediately radiates a patriotic feel without using sappy imagery. The subtle and humble heroism of Kyle is something that grew on me as I read the book, as I would rather be shown than told about accomplishments and valor.

Throughout the book, Kyle faces many challenges. His military service is not one of these challenges. He views his service as his duty to his country and does not dwell on the emotional aspects of war. However, at home it is a different story. Kyle’s wife Tara understandably wants him home and safe but Kyle continues to feel obligated to serve his country deployment after deployment. This conflict is one of the central parts of the book and Tara’s letters to Chris demonstrate the raw emotion and concern they have for one each other. The book is told very factually and straightforward, which helps the reader understand the nuances of war. He goes into great detail describing his gear including all of the snipers he used.

The book certainly does not lack action, as Chris faces life or death situations page after page. Some of his fellow Seals are not so lucky to get out of Iraq unscathed. Chris’s compassion for his fellow servicemen is truly inspiring. He truly feels like they are family and the tight knit community of Seals seems to be unbreakable. If you are looking to learn about warfare and one of America’s greatest heroes, I highly recommend this book.

Saturday, February 27, 2016

Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold



by Athena Ardila

This book was very interesting, sad, and emotional. Although the book had some really good ideas, I think that it could have been written better. I really enjoyed the beginning of the book, it was well thought out and interesting. However, towards the end of the book it started to get a little weird. I didn't understand the ending . It seemed like a rush job, kind of like she just wanted to get it over with. The ending was strange, sort of that she didn't know how to end the book so she just decided to fast forward life and then leave it there. All in all it was a very interesting and strange book. I'm not sure if I would recommend it to a friend.

Friday, February 26, 2016

Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand



by Abbey Phaneuf

Unbroken tells the inspiring, true story of Louis Zamperini as he transforms from a troubled youth to an olympian triumphing at the 1936 Berlin Games. His real unbroken spirit shines through however, as he survives the horrific journey as a POW. After his U.S. bomber plane crashes into the Pacific Ocean and leaves him stranded on a raft for 47 days, he and a fellow American officer were eventually found and captured by the Japanese army. 

As a POW under the control of one specific Japanese officer, Louis is tortured and unbelievably mistreated. The graphic descriptions enable the reader to feel his emotions as he travels through a wide range of personal experiences, from triumph to despair. This book describes the horrors of war and the resilience and human spirit of one man to survive.

Tuesday, February 9, 2016

the life-changing magic of tidying up by marie kondo



by Isabella DiPietro

If you’re the type of person that loses everything and your room is a mess, then this is the book for you. The author is a Japanese organizing consultant who works with hundreds of people and families to change their lifestyle for the better. In her book, she discusses how she approaches reorganizing and reshaping your life in the household and at work. She walks you through her exact process, telling you step-by-step how to approach the reorganization process. She talks through several examples of her clients which creates a nice connection for the reader. Additionally, she attacks each type of item and how to discard what isn’t necessary. Her main point is to keep only the things that “bring you joy.” It makes sense. Why wouldn’t you want to fill your house with only the things that you love.

The book is an easy read, and goes by fast. Additionally, the way the book is organized is that you can potentially skip around, and find specific items and how to organize them. I was already a very organized person, but still found great benefit from this book. If you are organized, don’t think that you don’t need to read this book. You will love it the most. On the other hand, if you aren’t vey organized and constantly find yourself losing things, then you need this book. You will get the most benefit and in the end will find yourself happy that you took the time to read it.

Sunday, February 7, 2016

Moon Palace by Paul Auster



by Katherine Tak

Paul Auster’s Moon Palace tells the story of Marco Stanley Fogg, a young man who graduates from Columbia University in New York City, as he tries to navigate his way throughout the world, despite the multiple hurdles that get thrown his way. It contains everything from family drama to romance to brutally honest personal narratives, through which the reader is able to learn much about themselves and the world around them. Throughout the book, Auster plays with the time frame and narration of the story. Although it is primarily narrated in the first person by Marco, Auster often writes in sub-stories which are told to Marco by other characters, and these stories take place at different points in time. As a result, the story is always finding new layers, as it jumps between the past and future. This is a good book for anyone who enjoys books about personal journeys and growth.

Moon Palace is similar to J.D. Salinger’s The Catcher and the Rye, also about a young man learning about the world around him. The colloquial language Auster uses and relatively simple general plotline make Moon Palace an easy read. However, do not mistake this for being shallow. The hardships of each of the characters in this novel reveal a lot about the fundamental human condition, and a lot can be learned about oneself through them. On the other hand, if you tend to be bothered by stubborn characters and frustrated by hardship, this is not the book for you. The characters all have their fallbacks, qualities that make them seem unlikeable, especially in the beginning.

The only reason that this novel did not receive five stars was because the plot begins to drag towards the end of the book. A period passes when seemingly nothing is happening, but things start to pick up again after not too long. However, this minor drawback is no reason to avoid the book. The characters are each very different individuals, and they are very much human, sometimes showing parts of the human condition that we would sometimes like to ignore. They experience emotions that are relatable to most people, in some form or another, and through this connection, the story becomes about the reader to a certain extent. I highly recommend this book to anyone with a few hours and a a willingness for adventure.



Saturday, February 6, 2016

The Cloven Viscount by Italo Calvino



by Zixuan Huang


For those who are interested in a duel between violence without justification and kindness without principles, for those who would like to see a dramatic reconciliation between the cruel and the kind-hearted sides of mankind, and for those who want to see a person who cuts everything literally in half after a cannonball tears him up, The Cloven Viscount is absolutely the thing. 

The plot is about the conflict between the evil and the good sides of Viscount Medardo of Terralba who is torn by a cannonball into two halves. Throughout a series of absurd and dramatic events, Calvino demonstrates a world where struggle makes humans human. This book contains some rather bloody or uncomfortable scenes which serve to develop the main ideas.

Friday, February 5, 2016

Mr Penumbra's 24 Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan



by Anisha Agarwal

Mr. Penumbra's 24 Hour Bookstore is an odd novel, filled with vastly different, yet equally curiosity-driven characters. In some ways, the book was confusing, but in the best way; it seemed to span many different eras and genres, connecting Google and the internet with centuries-old cults. Throughout the novel, the world of technology is interwoven with the world of books.

In the novel, the recently unemployed Clay Jannon begins working at a bookstore that is open 24 hours a day. The bookstore is described as having incredibly high shelves, thousands of books, many unheard of, and almost no up-to-date technology. Very soon, he begins to notice a pattern in the types of people who frequent the bookstore--people who rarely buy anything, yet come on a regular basis to check books out. Clay's curiosity is the driving force behind the plot of this novel, and, with a slew of interesting and well-developed secondary characters, he very quickly finds himself in a world that seems imaginary, as though he has traveled in time.

I would recommend this book to those who would like to read a smart, somewhat cryptic novel, and can survive the unnecessary, disjointed romantic plot for long enough to enjoy the rest of the novel.

Thursday, February 4, 2016

The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown



by Liz Kaye

Don’t be fooled by the simple title, The Boys in the Boat! This wonderful, complex book is about ‘boys’ who are heroically resilient and courageous both in the boat and in their lives. Set in the Depression in the state of Washington, the talented author Daniel Brown recounts the boys that comprised the crew team for the University of Washington. These boys were forced to grow up fast in difficult times. Brown centers the story on the engaging character, Joe Rantz whose story of grace in the face of poverty and poor parenting anchors the book. It includes the development of his relationship with Joyce Simdars, which is as touching and romantic as any romantic fiction novel could be. Brown’s characters are so appealing that you want to turn the page to find out what lies in store for them and root for their success.

Wednesday, February 3, 2016

The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan



by Helen Zhang

The Joy Luck Club tells the stories of four different Chinese immigrant mothers and their daughters, who meet periodically in the Joy Luck Club to play mah jong, talk, and eat good food. It is divided into four sections, with four anecdotes per section, alternating between mother and daughter. The mothers tell stories of growing up in China, of the sexism they faced when subordinated to men, of losing themselves and finding themselves again, and of the culture and traditions of China. They worry that their daughters will never be able to understand some aspects of Chinese culture that were so important to them when growing up.

The four daughters also talk about the individual problems they faced in both their past and present lives. While they reject or push away the Chinese traditions and lessons of their mothers in trying to adopt a more American lifestyle, they ultimately rely on their mothers' words for support when faced with issues in their own adult lives. The novel is a classic story of cultural identity and assimilating to a new culture.

Personally, I really liked this novel because I am a 2nd generation Chinese myself, so I could relate very well to the daughters. I feel very conflicted with my cultural identity as well, and I believe that this story portrays the conflict very well. The stories were very compelling, and it was especially nice to read the stories of the mothers' childhoods, living in China in the 1900's. It is a relatively easy to understand and compelling novel that touches upon very important issues and has a lot of depth. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone, as it increases cultural awareness and one's overall understanding of the world.

Tuesday, February 2, 2016

The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown



By Jared Groff

I really enjoyed this book. Despite the fact that I have absolutely no interest in crew, the novel captivated me throughout. I especially liked how Brown focused on the backstories of the rowers, specifically Jim Rantz, a poor but ambitious young rower who was abandoned by his family at a young age. The concept of the book is stirring and can be applied to many aspects of life. The idea of a rag-tag group of young boys from troubled backgrounds taking on the rowing world run by elitists is uplifting. Even more so are the ideas of teamwork and persistence. The maturation process of the group of boys is beautiful to witness, as you can almost feel their collective struggle to live up to their potential.

The only complaint I would have about this book is that it is somewhat prolonged. However, I feel as if the length is warranted to some degree. The novel I believe is meant to feel monotonous at some points, as this was the nature of the boys’ progression from talented youngsters to undisputed world champions. This book is extremely inspiring, and I have found myself referring back to it in times of adversity as its lessons are so applicable to life’s trials and tribulations. The rowing itself and the plot of the novel are ultimately secondary to the message of teamwork and a drive for excellence. Overall the novel is a somewhat lengthy, but extremely engaging, highly motivational, and makes for an exceptional read.

Monday, February 1, 2016

Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand



by Abbey Phaneuf

Unbroken tells the inspiring, true story of Louis Zamperini as he transforms from a troubled youth to an olympian triumphing at the 1936 Berlin Games. His real unbroken spirit shines through however, as he survives the horrific journey as a POW. After his U.S. bomber plane crashes into the Pacific Ocean and leaves him stranded on a raft for 47 days, he and a fellow American officer were eventually found and captured by the Japanese army.

As a POW under the control of one specific Japanese officer, Louis is tortured and unbelievably mistreated. The graphic descriptions enable the reader to feel his emotions as he travels through a wide range of personal experiences, from triumph to despair. This book describes the horrors of war and the resilience and human spirit of one man to survive.

Thursday, January 28, 2016

Born to Run: a hidden tribe, superathletes, and the greatest race the world has never seen by Christopher MacDougall



by Meg Peacher

Great book! I like to run but I am definitely not about to go run an ultramarathon but I still thought this book was really interesting, fun and easy to read. McDougall begins with his personal painful and pathetic running experiences, and how his frustration with his aching body leads to his search for running answers and secrets. He strikes specific interest with the elusive rumors of the Tarahumara Indians, said to be living deep in the Mexican Canyons. McDougall becomes determined to find out more about this infamous group of super-athletes which he had only read about in magazine articles, so he travels to Mexico. He tracks down an infamous man by the name of Caballo Blanco and hears his story about the "hidden tribe, superathletes, and the Greatest Race the World has Never Seen."

McDougall's personal exploration for better running technique and fewer aches and pains is interwoven with extraordinarily interesting facts, statistics, studies and tips about running and how humans have barely tapped into our physical potential. The book is truly inspiring and very cool, it is as quick read because it is difficult to put down. I personally have been known to not finish books and become bored within the first 50 pages of reading, but Born to Run truly kept me engaged. It has a wild way of making you want drive up to New Hampshire and run up a mountain with bare feet every time you pick it up.

Wednesday, January 27, 2016

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green



by Vincent Dong

This book was a heartwarming novel about two cancer patients. It is a great read for people who enjoy romance, with bits of comedy here and there. I really enjoyed having the main character a girl. As a male reader, I usually understand how the guys think and their actions, and nearly all the books I have read so far had male protagonists. Having reading a novel with Hazel Grace Lancaster (female main character) was refreshing to me, and this experience was nothing like the other books I have read. 

This books tackles the difficulties of being a cancer patient. Hazel herself is diagnosed with cancer, along with other characters in the novel including Augustus Waters, a boy who Hazel has a crush on. Hazel has to live life in fear of her demise, but this is not the main cause of her stress. She is scared for the people around her like her parents, due to the amount of paint and suffering her parents would obtain if she passes away. She compares herself to a grenade, which can explode at any minute, hurting the people around it. Her ambiguous future is the cause for her reluctance to begin a love relationship with Augustus. 

This book is a definite read for romance lovers, who also enjoy comedy as well. It is very modernized, and the way Hazel and the other characters act is very similar to teenagers nowadays. If you want a lovely book that may make you laugh and cry, this is the perfect book for you.

A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith



by Kelsey McGeough

A Tree Grows in Brooklyn is a novel from the point of view of a young girl named Francie Nolan. The story consists of Francie, her Mother, Father and younger brother as they struggle to survive in the slums of Brooklyn, NY. Their grandparents were first generation immigrants from Austria, and settling in the U.S has not been easy for them. They rely on each other and extended family in their daily struggle to put food on the table. The plot is based in the 1900's, and Smith is able to make statements about poverty, education, family, moral development and the role of women. We are able to watch Francie and her brother mature and grow faster than a normal kid because of the harsh reality they live in.

I thought the book was easily relatable and although there is not much suspense or action, Smith is able to keep you interested with the hardship of every day life. However, if you are someone who needs action to keep you interested, this book is not for you. In addition, if you are someone that simply wants an easy read, I would not recommend this book either, it does require some thinking and presents some difficult themes. The book is long, around 500 pages, but the language is easy to understand and read.

I did think the book was a bit slow at times, and I found myself skimming unnecessary dialogs or rants, but Smith picks it right back up with another conflict. Despite that I loved the way the story was written from a child's perspective and we see her grow and mature throughout the story. The themes were easily relatable and can be recognized in our own lives which I though was really cool. Overall, I loved this book and hope you enjoy it as well!

Tuesday, January 26, 2016

The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown



by Catherine Upton

The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown is a captivating book. While it was a little uninteresting and hard to read for the first few chapters, after I got used to the writing style and got a few chapters in, it was hard to put down. The story follows the US Olympic rowing eight from the day they met to the day they competed in the Berlin Olympics. The book does a good job at character building, shedding light on a few characters' pasts in order to allow the reader to understand the characters choices, see their faults and their strengths. By allowing the reader to understand the characters, the author allows the reader to travel with the boys and feel their victories as well as all the emotions they feel throughout the season.

While the book follows the eight, it also shows scenes of Germany while it prepared for the Olympics. This back and forth allows the reader to see what is going on in the world around the boys in the eight. This creates a realistic atmosphere and allows the reader to further understand the situations and the depth that the boys get into. All of these different techniques of getting the reader to relate to the characters really pays off in a few places, namely, the races. Brown does a fantastic job in his race descriptions. He captures the urgency and calm of a race. He shows the reader what a race feels like, and, as a reader, I could feel every move that the boat made. In a few pages, I believe the Brown was able to make the reader know how it feels and the pain associated with a rowing race, without ever having to touch an oar. The suspense he weaves into his descriptions left me on the edge of my seat, wishing I could read faster so I could see what happened, but not wanting to miss a single word of it.

This book was good, with all parts of it weaving together harmoniously to form an incredible description of an already impressive story. The reason I gave it four stars, instead of five, is the beginning. I feel that the book could do a better job at captivating it audience from the first chapter, as it took some willpower to get to the point where the book got interesting. While I feel that the information portrayed in the first few chapters is important to the story, I feel that it could have been written better so that it could be read easier. Other than that, this book was well written and weaved together suspense and emotion together to form a breathtaking telling of an impressive story.

Monday, January 25, 2016

Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen



by Tina Ziobro


Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen is a story that keeps readers on the edge of their seats. This story is told from the point of view of Jacob Jankowski in his nineties, looking back on his life in comparison to his current life in a nursing home. As a young veterinarian, Jacob abandons his life after his parents suddenly pass away in an accident. He ends up working on the Benzini Borther’s Circus. The novel follows his time on the circus as he falls in love, sees murder and torture and discovers what it means to truly live.

I very much enjoyed this read and have very few negative comments about it. The amount of detail about the circus life in the 1930s creates another world to escape to. Gruen clearly did extensive research on the time. The story of the circus alone is riveting. On top of that, there is the relationship Jacob forms with the head animal trainer August, and his performer wife Marlena. Jacob falls in love with Marlena, and though their love story is a bit sappy, it triggers huge conflict between August and the others. August’s personality and Marlena and Jacob’s connection bring lots of intriguing surprises that make Water for Elephants a real page turner.

For anyone who is interested in stories with lots of twists, love stories but more specifically, an insight into the 1930s, I highly recommend this book.

Sunday, January 24, 2016

Cold Mountain by Charles Frazier



by Erin Sarocco

Cold Mountain by Charles Frazier explores the story of a former soldier named Inman and his lover Ada, who are separated from each other as a result of the Civil War. The book begins with Inman in a recovery hospital and, after meeting a blind man, Inman is inspired to go get back what he has lost. Frazier then tells the story of Ada and a new friend Ruby as they take care of Ada's inherited farm. The majority of the story is Inman's journey as he encounters many women and people whose stories parallel his.

This historical fiction outlines an emotional and inspiring journey that is eye opening to someone who does not know a lot about the Civil War. For me this was very much the case and through this story I learned a lot about the war and the effects it had on families and relationships.

Although it was hard to relate to any of the characters through reading, I formed some emotional connections to them. Cold Mountain is one of the best books I have read yet and I really recommend making it your next read.

Saturday, January 23, 2016

The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan



by Rachel Fishman

The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan explores the importance of cultural identity as it changes between the generations. The story follows the intertwining paths of eight women as they discover their values and identities. Four mothers attempt to come to terms with their daughters’ disregard of tradition as their stories of hardship and loss on their journeys from China to San Francisco are told. Their American-born daughters struggle to overcome generational differences to understand their mothers’ wishes and discover what it means to be Chinese-American.

By reading this book, I gained insight into both Chinese culture and a different perspective of America. As a white American, I was able to gain a new awareness for the identity conflicts that immigrants face. I loved reading a book that was set in a culture different than my own. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes to connect with the characters they read. I was drawn in by the emotions of each personal narrative and fascinated by how the characters’ stories connected. The one drawback of this book was that I found it difficult to keep track of the narrators, as they switched each chapter.

Friday, January 22, 2016

The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson



by Veronica Rigobon

This novella was a light and interesting read. It recalls the events of Allan Karlsson's life, a Swedish man with a talent at creating bombs and a hatred for politics. Although the novel is packed with intense stories and lots of detail, the author's language weaves it into an incredible tale. Born in 1907, Allan lives through the events of the 20th century, unwittingly playing a part in most of them. From making of the atomic bomb with Harry S. Truman to meeting Franco and Mao, Allan lives through random yet amazing events. Kidnapped and far away from his home for years, Allan is a cunning and friendly character who escapes death almost every other chapter.

I recommend this book to people who know a good amount of 20th century history, because it makes the novel funnier and allows you to understand the main character more thoroughly. Written in a realistic sense, Allan's absurd life seems normal while the reader is aware and amused of how implausible yet possible it could be. I find the contradiction amusing and different, adding to the novel as a whole. Also, people who enjoy a storytelling type novel, as the main themes are simple. 

Even though the book is not deep, the idea of openness, friendliness and lack of judgement is critical to the book. Throughout his adventures Allan survives because of his ability to make friends with everyone and disregard their negative actions. Although it could lead to moral issues, as the bad or criminal decisions a person makes shapes their character, the author portrays the happiness it can bring. Allan's ability to see everyone the same, regardless of who they are makes him enjoy life and adventure far.

I gave this book a 4 star rating because the novel is amusing but it lacks depth and meaning that many people desire when reading. The novel is interesting and unique from any other book I have ever read.

Thursday, January 21, 2016

It's Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini




by Lizzie Racklin

Coming from an experienced perspective, Ned Vizzini captures 15-year-old Craig's struggles with mental health in a funny and realistic tone. After some stressful and traumatic experiences, Craig checks himself into the psychiatric ward of a hospital, where he is made to stay in the adult wing. As he spends a few days there, he addresses the problems in his life and tries to change his situation while interacting with interesting characters and waiting for a "shift" in his mind.

Vizzini manages to make Craig's intense situation relatively lighthearted and universally relatable. As this is one of my favorite books, I would recommend it to most teenagers and adults. Even those who don't directly connect to Craig's story will relate to certain sentiments that the book conveys. Vizzini wrote this book shortly after spending time in a psychiatric hospital and harnesses his experience to tell an important story. This book tells Craig's story not of sadness and trauma, but of finding his individual path to recovery while keeping a sense of humor.